U.S. Department of Transportation National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Memorandum

Subject: Docket Submission of Meeting with Volvo

Date:

- From: Dee Williams Acting Director Office of Vehicle Crash Avoidance and Electronic Controls Research
 - ^{To:} Docket Number: NHTSA-2022-0079 Advanced Impaired Driving Technology
- Through: Terrence Sommers Assistant Chief Counsel Vehicle Safety Standards and Harmonization

On Tuesday, November 15, 2022, staff from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) met with Volvo. The meeting included various topics, including potential vehicle impairment technologies. NHTSA, being in the pre-rule stage of Advanced Impaired Driving Technology (RIN 2127-AM50), requests to docket this contact. Below are the names of NHTSA and Volvo attendees.

<u>NHTSA</u>

- Dee Williams, Acting Director, Vehicle Crash Avoidance and Electronics Controls Research; NSR Deputy Associate Administrator
- Tim Johnson, Director, Vehicle Research and Test Center (VRTC), NSR
- Lori Summers, Acting Senior Advisor in NHTSA's Office of Rulemaking; Director, Vehicle Crash Avoidance and Electronics Controls Research, NSR
- Stacy Balk, Division Chief of Human Factors/ Engineering Integration, NSR
- Thomas Fincannon, General Engineer, Human Factors/Engineering Integration, NSR
- Eric Traube, General Engineer, Human Factors/Engineering Integration, NSR
- Jeremiah Singer, Psychologist, Human Factors/Engineering Integration, NSR
- Christian Jerome, Psychologist, Human Factors/Engineering Integration, NSR
- Jeffrey Dressel, Psychologist, Human Factors/Engineering Integration, NSR
- Frank Barickman, Division Chief, Applied Crash Avoidance VRTC, NSR
- Elizabeth "Liz" Mazzae, Senior General Engineer Human Factors Related Crash Avoidance Research, VRTC, NSR
- John Martin, Electronics Engineer, Applied Crash Avoidance Division, NSR
- Robert Ritter, Director, Impaired Driving and Occupant Protection, NPD
- **David Freeman**, Division Chief, Vehicles Controls and Adapted Vehicles, Office of Rulemaking (NRM)

- David Hines, Director, Office of Crash Avoidance Standards, NRM
- Chontyce Pointer, General Engineer, Vehicles Controls and Adapted Vehicles, NRM

<u>Volvo</u>

- Katherine Yehl, Vice President of Government Affairs
- Mikel Ljung Aust, Technical Specialist
- Stephan Ryrberg, Senior Research Engineer